You are here


The Local 770 Team
Dedicated to member service!

Ricardo F. Icaza, President

Ricardo F. Icaza, President
 (213) 487-7070

Mr. Icaza has been a member of Local 770 since 1956, and has served in its staff several capacities, including Research Assistant, Organizer, Business Representative and Secretary-Treasurer. He has been President of Local 770 since 1981.

In addition to his duties with Local 770, Mr. Icaza is the President of the Los Angeles County Federation of Labor, Treasurer of the Food and Drug Council, and a Vice President of the Labor Council for Latin American Advancement (LCLAA).

He also serves as one of the union trustees of the Southern California United Food and Commercial Workers Unions and Food Employers Joint Benefit and Pension Funds.

Mr. Icaza is a founding member of the United Latinos of the UFCW.

On September 26, 2001, President Icaza was appointed by Governor Gray Davis as a member of the Trustees of the California State University where he served for several years. He is also a Board member of the National Association for Hispanic Elderly.

Mr. Icaza holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration from UCLA and has pursued legal courses at USC School of Law.


John M. Grant

John Grant, Secretary-Treasurer
 (213) 487-7070

John Grant has been an active Local 770 union member since 1976. John worked as a meat packer for 9 years at the Vernon slaughterhouse, Farmer John. During that time, he served as a shop steward, picket captain, and bargaining committee member. In 1977, he was reinstated by the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) after being illegally fired for strike-related activities.

In 1985, John joined Local 770 as a Union Representative. He has since served as a trustee for the pension and medical benefit trusts, Director of the Packinghouse Division, and as Local 770's In-House Counsel. He has served on the Southern California Plant Closing Committee, Executive Board of the Los Angeles City Workforce Investment Board, a founding member on the Los Angeles Committee on Safety and Health, the Advisory Board of the LATTC Labor Center, the Executive Committee of Housing LA (successfully advocating for more low cost housing), and the Los Angeles Food Policy Committee.

John Grant graduated Phi Beta Kappa from UC, Santa Barbara (1973, B.A. in Urban Studies), Loyola Law School, Los Angeles (J.D. 1976) and Los Angeles Trade Technical College Labor Center (1984, Degree in Labor Studies).




Kathy Finn, Director of Collective Bargaining, Research & Education
 (213) 201-7113

Ms. Finn has been with UFCW Local 770 since 1997. Ms. Finn began representing day laborers while still in law school and then, after graduating in 1990, worked for the union-side labor law firm that represents Local 770 as well as other UFCW Locals. Finn currently serves as a trustee on the Southern California UFCW Health & Welfare Fund and the Pension Fund. She also assists in negotiating many of Local 770's contracts and is passionate about ensuring that our members' health and pension benefits are protected.

Kathy Finn received a bachelors degree from UC Santa Barbara in 1986 and a law degree from UCLA in 1990.




Paul Edwards, Field Director
(213) 201-7119

Paul served as a union representative for 15 years before becoming Local 770's Field Director overseeing all field activities for union representatives in the Food and Drug divisions.

Paul graduated from Indiana University with a Bachelors degree in Political Science with a minor in Economics.


Rigo Valdez

Rigo Valdez, Director of Organizing
 (213) 201-7120

Mr. Hansen began his union activism in 1962 when he became an apprentice meat cutter in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Today, he is the International President of the UFCW, a 1.3 million-member labor organization. Hansen is a leader and one of the founding architects of the Change to Win Federation—uniting seven unions, representing six million workers, dedicated to restoring the American Dream in the 21st century—and serves as the chair of the federation’s Immigration Taskforce. In addition, Hansen is President of Union Network International—a global union, uniting 15 million workers in 120 countries.


UFCW Local 770 Field Representatives


Eileen Alcala

Eric Aviles


Cheryl Butler


Lily Cervantes


Samantha Christian



Armando Espinoza


Danny Garcia


Jackie Gitmed


Patti Green


Richard Lovato


Ronnie Maxwell



Cindie McGinnis



Tim McGowan



Mercedes Medrano


Kim Mosher


Michael Palos


Joe Pierre


Tracey Richardson


Michael Rosales


Bobby Sabedra


Linda Saboor


Tim Shoemake


Ron Solano


Darren Verastegui


Dena Weston


Jill Whitney

Find Union Representative by Store